November 2014 Update

November 2014

Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award 2014...

Three outstanding principals have been named Gold Medallion finalists for the Council’s 2014 Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award. Wallace Aristide from Miami-Northwestern Senior High School in Miami-Dade, Kenneth Hart from Monroe Middle School in Hillsborough County, and Guarn Sims from Village Academy School on the Art and Sara Jo Kobacker Campus in Palm Beach County will each receive $5,000 for personal use. The overall winner will be named during the annual luncheon on November 13, at the University of Miami Newman Alumni Center. The winner will receive an additional $5,000.

The prizes are based on improving student achievement at their respective schools and also engaging business partnerships in education. Principals must have participated in a Council sponsored program and have served as a principal for at least three years.

Spotlight: Harold Edward Patricoff Board Member

Harold Edward Patricoff is a partner in Shutts & Bowen LLP. He is a veteran litigator who represents clients in disputes across multinational borders. He has built a reputation as a tenacious commercial litigator with a broad geographic reach and now broadens that reach as Chairman of the International Dispute Resolution Practice Group. Mr. Patricoff counsels clients in Florida, the U. S. Latin America and Europe.

He defends and prosecutes claims for national and international businesses in U. S. courts, handles international arbitrations, and counsels multinational companies in foreign and domestic claims. Mr. Patricoff has developed a significant practice in the area of domestic and international fuel sales, supply and distribution, banking litigation and regulatory work and in the power generation industry.

Mr. Patricoff is active in the community, and is on the Board of Directors for the Miami-Dade County Chapter of the YMCA and on the Board of the Miami Symphony Orchestra, American Nicaraguan Foundation (including the Audit Committee) and Ted Smallwood Store. He is past Chairman of the American Heart Association’s Metro Miami Board of Directors, served on the Board’s Executive Committee and also served on the Board for the American Red Cross. He has also served on the Board of Directors for The Jay Malina International Trade Consortium.


  • Jayne Ellspermann, Principal of West Port High School in Marion County has been named the Principal of the Year by the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP). Jayne is a graduate of the Council for Educational Change’s initial group of the Commissioner’s Leadership Academy. As the representative from Florida, she competed against a nominee from every state.
  • Larry Plank, District STEM Director from Hillsborough County Public Schools, recently shared how valuable the STEM related work with the Council for Educational Change has "provided pathways to additional support”. Hillsborough recently received a $3 million Math/Science Partnership grant from Florida Department of Education (FDOE) to continue the Council’s project to develop additional curriculum based on their experiences in the STEM: Strong & Steady Program which was funded by the Helios Foundation.
  • The Helios Education Foundation is celebrating 10 years of partnerships that have played an integral role in creating opportunities for students to succeed across the education continuum. The Council for Educational Change is proud to be a partner with the Foundation, most recently with Project STEM: Strong and Steady in Hillsborough County.

Update on Council Programs…
PASS© and Executive PASS

Statewide Sponsors: Publix Super Markets Charities, Inc. and Raymond James Financial

  • On October 11, at their Cluster I Meeting at the Delray Beach Marriott Hotel, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. presented Principal Guarn Sims with 287 backpacks filled with school supplies for the students at Village Academy.
  • The new Executive PASS partnership in Miami-Dade is Morningside K-8 Academy, Principal Kathleen John-Louissaint, with business partner Favio Taborda of MassMutual; continuing partnerships: at James H. Bright/J.W. Johnson Elementary with new principal Claudine Winsor, and business partner Cory Muniz of Primerica; Horace Mann Middle – Principal Leon Maycock and new business partner Remy Dou of MassMutual; Earlington Heights Elementary – Principal Linette Tellez and business partner Abel Trujillo of MassMutual.
  • Pinellas County Schools currently has 30 Executive PASS teams in place for this school year and is still growing. The coordinators are currently attending initial partnership meetings at individual schools to ensure that they all get off to a great start. Superintendent Dr. Michael Grego is truly committed to these partnerships, and is looking forward to seeing some great outcomes.
  • PASS Principal Kenneth Hart of Monroe Middle in Hillsborough County, which has an active STEM team involved in the Helios grant, was just named 2014 Just Read, Florida Middle School Literacy Leader of the Year for the State of Florida.
  • Robert Ovalle, principal of Campbell Park Elementary, traveled door to door with teachers at the beginning of the school year to introduce themselves to families and meet with local business owners to talk about ways they could support the school. When he noticed students who typically walk to school were showing up about an hour late to classes, his community connections helped him figure out that they were stopping at a local convenience store for snacks on their way to school. Now the convenience store owner contacts the school when he sees students loitering during school hours, or he gets the students to class himself. United Way Suncoast is the school’s PASS partner.
  • The Campbell Park Elementary and the Sandy Lane Elementary PASS Teams met together in early October. The conversations centered around initiatives completed, new initiatives, and progress made, generated additional strategy and support ideas. Principal Nicole Clifton, Principal Robert Ovalle and Emery Ivery, Regional President of United Way Suncoast along with Jamie Toennies, Senior Director Education Strategies, PASS Coach Debbie Ramker, PASS Coach Valerie White and PASS Coordinator Sherry Clarke, plan to get together again prior to the winter break. Both PASS program schools are funded by United Way Suncoast.

A printable version of the Update is available for download below.

Council for Educational Change Board....Florida's Educational Think Tank
Charles B. Blumenkamp, Chair • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director
Founder, Leonard Miller
Andrew L. Ansin* • Philip F. Blumberg • Hugh M. Brown* • Columba Bush* • Charles E. Cobb Jr.* •
Scott A. Curtis*
 Diane Davis
Edward W. Easton* • Dorothy EisenbergT. Willard Fair* • Edward T. Foote, II* • Karen Fryd
Dr. Robert W. Graham, III • Bill Habermeyer* • Steven T. Halverson* • Elsie Sterling Howard • Cyrus M. Jollivette
David S. Kenin Esq* • Jonathan I. Kislak* • Daniel W. Mahurin* • Richard Manners • Gene E. Marshall • Beth G. Martinez*
Jeffrey Miller • Sue Miller • Robert A. Morris Jr.* • Robert Moss • Anabel I. Nemrow • Beau Parrillo • Fred Pezeshkan
Andrew S. Rosen • Peter S. Rummell* • Steven J. Saiontz • Michael Scheck* • Roger Slade • Elliott Stern*
Steven J. Uhlfelder • Scott Ulvi
Keith T. Ward • Steven Wasserman • Joe G. Weaver • Lynne Wines
Dr. Paul Zimmerman • Robert A. Zinn     *Life Trustees
3265 Meridian Parkway Suite 130 Weston, FL 33331 phone: 954.727.9909 fax: 954.727.0990
NOV 2014 Update.pdf207.67 KB