2015 Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award Winner Announced

The Council for Educational Change is proud to announce that West Port High School Principal Jayne Ellspermann from Marion County is the recipient of the 2015 Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award. Jayne was one of three School Principals chosen as Gold Medallion Finalist of this highly coveted award in the State of Florida. Carver Middle School Principal Kiwana Alexander-Prophete from Palm Beach County and Franklin Boys Preparatory Academy Principal John Haley from Hillsborough County were finalists.

As winner of The Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award, Ms. Ellspermann received a $10,000 check during an award ceremony on Wednesday, Nov. 19, at the University of Miami in Coral Gables. Ms. Alexander-Prophete and Mr. Haley received a $5,000 check each.

The Council was the vision of the late Leonard Miller, co-founder of Lennar Corp. Leonard believed that all children could succeed if they receive a quality education. The Council works with school principals and business executives to help strengthen leadership in public schools across Florida. Over the past 13 years, the organization has invested more than $30 million dollars and touched the lives of more than 1.6 million students in over 900 schools.