July 2014 Update

July 2014

Our Annenberg Scholars…
Where Are They Now?

Natalie Antunez:  Natalie has completed a very eventful year at Harvard. In addition to earning excellent grades, she traveled to Peru for a week over the winter break. During the spring recess, she participated in a community service project on an urban farm in the Lower Ninth Ward of New Orleans. For the second semester, Natalie joined a sorority and was elected treasurer of Latinas Unidas de Harvard. This summer she will travel to Barcelona and Madrid to study Spanish language and culture. For next year, Natalie will serve as a Peer Advising Fellow for incoming freshmen.

Payton Kaar: Payton graduated from Northeast High School, and had another exceptional year with her scientific research. Once again, she was the overall winner of the Broward County Science Fair. In the fall, she will continue her studies at the University of Miami.

Isabelle Morris:  Isabelle received Plant High School’s Biology Excellence Award and also the science Golden Panther award. She traveled to New Jersey where she was the coxswain of her rowing team, which competed at nationals. They made it to petite finals where they beat a team that had beaten them all season, and placed third - the ninth fastest varsity rowing eight in the country! Isabelle will be attending Stanford University where she plans to continue to compete with the rowing team.

Isabelle Tersio: Isabelle completed her senior year at Boca Raton High School in Palm Beach as the Salutatorian, and was voted Senior Superlative, “Friends with Everyone.”  She participated in a College Board pilot program called AP Global Challenge, in which 15 schools worldwide were selected to compete. Her team won first place in the entire world. In sports, her team was district Flag-Football runner-up, she was named defensive MVP in district finals. She went on to be named a 1st all-county team member and a senior All-Star team member. Isabelle won the award for the outstanding French student, and will begin her freshman year at University of Pennsylvania in the fall.

Sean Vennett: Sean graduated from Jefferson High School with a 6.54 GPA. He served as the student government president and received leadership awards at the annual senior awards ceremony. He was chosen as one of two top seniors to represent Jefferson High in the Spotlight on Seniors news program in Hillsborough County. He will be attending Auburn University in the fall.

The Council for Educational Change served as a connector of resources between the Leonore Annenberg College Scholarship Funds and the school districts. The students above were nominated for, and ultimately received, a college scholarship in the amount of $250,000 each.

Update on Council Programs…
PASS and Executive PASS

Council board member Steve Wasserman continues to work with his alumni PASS partnership at Boyd H. Anderson High School. He helped to arrange internship experiences for approximately 40 students this summer. They participated in a two week program, from 9 AM to 1 PM daily, at a variety of work locations throughout Broward County. Students visited and were introduced to various career opportunities, including internships at the Florida Medical Center, United Way of Broward County, Lauderdale Lakes City Hall, AeroTurbine Inc., Career Source Broward, Museum of Science and Discovery, City Furniture, and a Legal Service Day at the Tower Club in Fort Lauderdale.

Dr. Gerald Glass, PASS business partner at Bunche Park Elementary, continues his support for the school. At the school’s fifth grade graduation program, Principal Yesenia Aponte and PASS Coordinator Dr. Geneva Woodard presented the coveted “Dr. Gerald Glass Academic Achievement Award” to the two fifth graders with the highest GPA. The winners received laptop computers which were provided by Dr. Glass. He also gave each fifth grader a $100 Target gift card to support their parents in purchasing school uniforms and supplies as they prepare to enter middle school.

Academic Bowls are usually a high school or college academic competition. However, in an effort to prepare elementary school students to compete, Bunche Park and neighboring schools Nathan B. Young, Rainbow Park, Golden Glades, and Dr. Robert Ingram Elementary joined together to expose students to activities that go beyond classroom experiences. Approximately 100 students in grades 3 – 5 answered questions in reading, math, and science.

Exciting News….

  • As a former winner of Miami Today’s “Best of Miami”, the Council’s President and Executive Director, Dr. Elaine Liftin was asked to submit nominations for this year’s awards. Congratulations to Art Noriega, CEO of the Miami Parking Authority and Executive PASS partner for Miami Northwestern Senior and Perla Tabares Hantman, long-time member of the Miami-Dade County School Board for their selection for this prestigious award.
  • Jayne Ellsperman, a 2012 - 2013 graduate of the Council’s Commissioner’s Leadership Academy, has been named the Florida Principal of the Year by Florida Association of School Administrators (FASA). She received her award during FASA’s 2014 summer conference in Tampa. Jayne is the principal of West Port High School, the largest senior high in Marion County. Since West Port opened in fall of 2003, FCAT scores have climbed from among the worst of the district’s nine high schools to among the best. She will represent Florida in the 2015 National Principal of the Year competition conducted by MetLife and the National Association of Secondary School Principals.
  • Graduates of the Commissioner’s Leadership Academy will take their newly acquired skills to new positions as they have received promotions.
    • Dr. Julio Valle, Jr. of Sawgrass Elementary in Lake is the new principal of Orange County’s Judson B. Walker Middle,
    • Dr. Terrie Mitev, former principal of Calusa Park Elementary is the new Executive Director of Continuous Improvement Initiatives in Collier County,
    • Michael Lewis, former principal of North Miami Senior High is the new Regional Administrative Director in the Education Transformation Office, and
    • Lydia Martin, former principal of Southport Middle is the new Executive Director of Schools for St. Lucie.

  • Congratulations to Elizabeth West, Principal of Holley Navarre Intermediate School who was recently selected as Elementary Principal of the Year for the Santa Rosa School District. Liz is also a graduate of the Commissioner’s Leadership Academy.


A printable version of the Update is available for download below.

Council for Educational Change Board....Florida's Educational Think Tank
Charles B. Blumenkamp, Chair • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director
Founder, Leonard Miller
Andrew L. Ansin* • Philip F. Blumberg • Hugh M. Brown* • Columba Bush* • Charles E. Cobb Jr.* • Irv Cohen
Scott A. Curtis* • Edward W. Easton* • T. Willard Fair* • Maribel Ferrer • Edward T. Foote, II* • Karen Fryd
Dr. Robert W. Graham, III • Bill Habermeyer* • Steven T. Halverson* • Elsie Sterling Howard • Cyrus M. Jollivette
David S. Kenin Esq* • Jonathan I. Kislak* • Daniel W. Mahurin* • Richard Manners • Gene E. Marshall • Beth G. Martinez*
Jeffrey Miller • Sue Miller • Robert A. Morris Jr.* • Robert Moss • Anabel I. Nemrow • Beau Parrillo • Fred Pezeshkan
Andrew S. Rosen • Peter S. Rummell* • Steven J. Saiontz • Michael Scheck* • Roger Slade • Elliott Stern*
Steven J. Uhlfelder • Keith T. Ward • Steven Wasserman • Joe G. Weaver • Lynne Wines
Dr. Paul Zimmerman • Robert A. Zinn     *Life Trustees
3265 Meridian Parkway Suite 130 Weston, FL 33331 phone: 954.727.9909 fax: 954.727.0990 www.changeeeducation.org
JUL 2014 Update.pdf258.99 KB