July 2011 Update

July 11, 2011

Florida Leadership Academy:
The ninth annual Florida Leadership Academy had a Best Practices and Science, Technology, Engineering & Mathematics (STEM) focus. It was sponsored by the Council in conjunction with the Florida Department of Education, from June 19 – 22 at the Embassy Suites - USF in Tampa. Approximately 250 people attended sessions conducted by educators who have successfully improved student achievement at their schools. Teams including the principal, assistant principal, and lead teachers developed action plans which will be implemented during the 2011 – 2012 school year. District administrators also attended to provide support. Special thanks to our corporate sponsors: Akerman Senterfitt, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Florida, Carnival Cruise Lines, Etraffic Solutions, Inc., Publix Super Markets Charities, as well as our exhibiting sponsors; Acaletics, American Reading Company, Curriculum Advantage – Classworks, ExploreLearning – Gizmos, Great Books, PASCO – SPARKscience, Pearson Digital, Write Score, and Voyager.

Special Recognitions:

  • Council partner, The Helios Education Foundation, was recently touted as one of the top organizations in the state for supporting and advancing Florida’s public education system. The recognition occurred as a part of the 2011 Commissioner’s Business Recognition Awards ceremony, held by the Florida Department of Education and the Florida Education Foundation. Their partnership activities with the Council have included improving science and mathematics teacher retention rates through mentoring, and improving science and mathematics instruction in the middle school grades.
  • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director of the Council, has been recognized as one of the “Best of Miami” by Miami Today. Dr. Liftin was nominated by Dr. John Dezek, Associate Dean of Barry University’s School of Education, “for her outstanding commitment to education.”


Leader to Leader:

  • In our second year of the program we welcome five new schools: Country Club Middle - Jose Fernandez, Principal; Charles David Wyche, Jr. Elementary - Dr. Barbara Johnson, Principal; Dr. Robert B. Ingram Elementary - Dr. Susan Trauschke-McEachin, Principal; Nathan B. Young Elementary - Raymond Sands, Principal; Palm Springs North Elementary - Dr. Manuel Sanchez, III, Principal. These schools will join the 13 original schools, working with business and education leaders and developing a curriculum for principals assigned to schools with challenging student populations.
  • On June 15, all of the participating Principals, their Assistant Principals, Educational Leaders, and Business Leaders met at American Senior High School.  The meeting was facilitated by Dr. John Hansen (Florida State University). Participants had an opportunity to share success stories and plan their strategies for improving student achievement during the 2011 – 2012 school year.
  • Dr. George M. Koonce, Jr., one the program’s Educational Leaders, received the AdvancED Florida Excellence in Education Award for his career work in promoting and advancing excellence in education nationally and in the state of Florida. He was also recognized for his extensive work with the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Council on Accreditation and School Improvement (SACS CASI) and AdvancED.


PASS© and Executive PASS©:

  • As part of the yearlong incentives initiative and partnership with BankAtlantic, 42 students received tickets to the Marlins game on May 19th. Students were chosen by their reading teachers to enjoy a fun-filled afternoon/evening that included a tour of the African American Research Library in Ft. Lauderdale, dinner at Red Lobster, and a trip to the stadium to see the Marlins play the Chicago Cubs. Congratulations to Jon Marlow, Principal; Frank Pizzo, Teacher Liaison; and Lewis Sarrica, BankAtlantic Business Partner.
  • The faculty and staff of Grand Avenue Primary Learning Center in Orlando enjoyed an outstanding end of the year luncheon at Rollins College on June 10th.  Special thanks to Pam Woodley, Rollins College Leadership Counselor, for making the luncheon possible.  The Grand Avenue Executive PASS partnership is a strong and positive partnership with Lino Rodriguez, Principal, and Pam Woodley from Rollins College leading the way.
  • Principals, business leaders, and Osceola district representatives came together for an Executive PASS end of the year partnership networking meeting June 13th.  This energizing meeting was coordinated by Beverly Brizendine and hosted by Janice Franceschi, Principal of Ventura Elementary.  Special thanks go to the Osceola School District and Dana Schafer, Director of Community Relations, for the generous support of Executive PASS in Osceola County.
  • Congratulations to Principal Valerie Ward, Chess Coach Ms. Polite, and the chess club team members at Scott Lake Elementary in Miami-Dade who placed second in the National Chess Tournament in Dallas, TX. There was only a 0.5 point difference between first and second place.
  • On June 14th, Jeannie Floyd, Principal of Lauderhill Middle School, hosted the end of the year BankAtlantic Executive PASS meeting.  Participants shared incredible success stories stemming from the partnerships and partners vowed to continue to work together for the benefit of children.
  • The 2011-2012 school year will begin with a new healthy eating initiative at Broadmoor Elementary School.  The school, which participates in a number of Council initiatives, was a recipient of a SaladBars2School grant and received a state of the art salad bar to encourage healthy eating for students and staff.  Principal Linda Klein wrote the grant that resulted in the installation of the new salad bar for the upcoming school year.


Outstanding Principals:
You could be the winner of the annual Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award with a prize of $10,000.
The application is available online at www.changeeducation.org.


A printable version of the Update is available for download below.


Council for Educational Change Board....Florida's Educational Think Tank
Gene E. Marshall, Chair • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director
Founder, Leonard Miller
Andrew L. Ansin • Philip F. Blumberg • Hugh M. Brown* • Columba Bush • Charles E. Cobb Jr.* • Irv Cohen • Scott A. Curtis • Dr. Akshay Desai
Willard D. Dover, Esq.* • Edward W. Easton • T. Willard Fair • Thomas J. Flood • Edward T. Foote, II • Karen Fryd • Dr. Robert W. Graham, III
Bill Habermeyer • Steven T. Halverson* • Alfred Hoffman, Jr.* • Elsie Sterling Howard •Cyrus M. Jollivette • David S. Kenin Esq • Jonathan I. Kislak
Daniel W. Mahurin* • Beth G. Martinez* • Philip G. McNally • Jeffrey Miller • Sue Miller • Robert A. Morris Jr. • Robert Moss • Beau Parrillo • Fred F. Pezeshkan
Charles E. Porter • Andrew S. Rosen • Peter S. Rummell • Steven J. Saiontz • Michael Scheck • Roger Slade • Elliott Stern* • Steven J. Uhlfelder
Gwynn C. Virostek • Keith T. Ward • Steven Wasserman • Lynne Wines • Dr. Paul Zimmerman • Robert A. Zinn     *Life Trustees
3265 Meridian Parkway Suite 130 Weston, FL 33331 phone: 954.727.9909 fax: 954.727-0990 www.changeeeducation.org


JUL 2011 Update.pdf161.28 KB