January 2016 Update

January 2016

Spotlight: Philip F. Blumberg
Council for Educational Change Board member Philip F. Blumberg, is making a difference. Around the world, vast quantities of food are going to waste, up to 50 % of annual crop yields are lost or spoiled. This is at the same time that countries are facing food shortages. The Egyptian government is addressing the issue with Blumberg Grain, one of the world's leading food security companies. Blumberg Grain is developing 294 Blumberg Grain aggregation centers, saving about US$ 600 million per year in crop loss. In 2015, the company wrapped up the year with over 12 million square feet of industrial development under construction throughout the Middle East and Africa, making Blumberg one of the largest developers in the region.

Mr. Blumberg is founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the Blumberg Partners group of companies, and Chairman of the firm's Investment Committee. He holds memberships with the Professional Associations of: Pension Real Estate Association (PREA), National Council of Real Estate Investment Fiduciaries (NCREIF), Urban Land Institute (ULI), National Association of Industrial and Office Properties (NAIOP), Builders & Owners Management Association (BOMA) and the Institute of Real Estate Management (IREM).

He serves on the Board of Governors of the Florida Chamber of Commerce and has served on that organization's Board of Directors for ten years. He was Chairman of the Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce for the year 2000-2001.

Mr. Blumberg is a member of the Florida Council of 100, made up of Florida's top 100 businessmen, appointed by the Governor and served on their Board of Directors. He was a member of the Board of Trustees of the University of Miami, and previously served on the Board of Directors of the Miami Dade College Foundation. He is also a member of the Miami Business Forum and serves on its Executive Committee.

Mr. Blumberg received his M.B.A. from Harvard Business School and his undergraduate degree from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill with Honors in Business. He is included in Who's Who in America and Who's Who in Finance and Industry.

Happy New Year!!!
Start the year with a gift to the Council for Educational Change. Your gift allows us to support schools with challenged and underserved populations. We have been very successful at connecting business partners with school leaders resulting in increased community engagement in support of education. Your support makes this happen. Please visit our website at www.ChangeEducation.org and click on "Donate Now" to make a difference today for a better tomorrow for our kids.

PASS© and Executive PASS©
Statewide Sponsors: Raymond James Financial and Publix Super Markets Charities

  • In December, the administration of Miami Northwestern Senior High recognized students for their achievements in the classroom. The school gave awards to students who have already received college acceptance letters and scholarships. So far the students have received $2.3 million worth of scholarship money and the goal is to get more than $10 million before graduation. “In the past many graduating seniors, didn’t have money for college, or they were struggling to get money for college, so that would hinder them from going to college,” said student government president Sara St. Juste. So far this year, 200 of the 350 seniors have been accepted to college, which is double the amount from the same time last year.
  • Congratulations to the Mort Elementary PASS partners for their formal recognition by the School Board of Hillsborough County. The recognition, at the November meeting was for the newly implemented PASS partnership at Mort Elementary School. Recognized that evening were Business Mentor Brian Butler; Cyrus and Joanne Spurlino of the Spurlino Foundation; Principal Woodland Johnson; Diana Baker, Philanthropy Advisor and Grants Administrator of the Spurlino Foundation; Council for Educational Change Board Chair Charles B. Blumenkamp; Gene Marshall, CEC Board member; and PASS Coordinator Sherry Clarke. Mr. Blumenkamp provided information about the PASS program focus and introduced the PASS team members at the event.
  • Sandy Lane Elementary has earned the honorable distinction of being an AVID Showcase school. AVID (Advancement Via Individual Determination) is an instructional system that is a schoolwide transformational effort focused on leadership, systems, instruction, and culture. It is designed to increase the number of students who envision higher education in their lives beyond high school. It also teaches students academic and social skills to help them develop behaviors needed to succeed in a rigorous curriculum. Sandy Lane has integrated AVID with Marzano elements in its school improvement plan, as well its PASS grant goals and objectives. Visiting teachers from across the Tampa Bay area participated in Sandy Lane's "showcase". Principal Nicole Clifton, along with her teachers, staff and students, modeled what an AVID Elementary philosophy looks like in an authentic setting. Also providing leadership and guidance was AVID District Director, Caroline Prince, and AVID Elementary Systems Coach, Phillip Pautienus. Visitors had the unique opportunity to walk through the school to see AVID strategies in action, taking pictures of posters and classroom systems, as well as talking to students and teachers about how these practices have changed culture and student performance at Sandy Lane Elementary.
  • A New Executive PASS partnership in Miami-Dade has formed at South Miami Middle between Principal John Boue and Business Partner John Navarro, Publix Super Markets. Mr. Navarro represented Publix at the 2015 Leonard Miller Principal Leadership Award luncheon, and was so inspired by the outstanding principals who were honored, he expanded his participation in the Executive PASS program to South Miami Middle.
  • Six students from Village Academy visited the Max Planck Institute for Neuroscience Research. The MPFI Scientific Career Panel is an opportunity for high school and middle school students in Palm Beach County to meet and interact with Max Planck scientists. 

A printable version of the Update is available for download below.

Council for Educational Change Board....Florida's Educational Think Tank
Charles B. Blumenkamp, Chair • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director
Founder, Leonard Miller
Andrew L. Ansin* • Philip F. Blumberg • Columba Bush* • Ambassador Charles E. Cobb Jr.*
Scott A. Curtis* • Diane Davis* • Edward W. Easton* • Dorothy Eisenberg • T. Willard Fair*
Edward T. Foote, II* • Karen Fryd • Dr. Robert W. Graham, III • Steven T. Halverson*
Lori R. Hartglass • Cyrus M. Jollivette* • Jonathan I. Kislak • Joseph E. Mahoney, Jr. • Daniel W. Mahurin*
Gene E. Marshall • Brad Martin • Beth G. Martinez* • Jeffrey Miller • Sue Miller
Arthur Noriega V • Harold E. Patricoff • Andrew S. Rosen • Peter S. Rummell*
Steven J. Saiontz • Ned Shandloff* • Steven J. Uhlfelder • Scott Ulvi • Steven Wasserman
Joe G. Weaver • Lynne Wines* • Paul Zimmerman, MD    *Life Trustees
3265 Meridian Parkway Suite 130 Weston, FL 33331 phone: 954.727.9909 fax: 954.727.0990 www.ChangeEducation.org


JAN 2016 Update.pdf250.01 KB