January 2013 Update

January 2013

Spotlight On…
Board Member: Maribel Ferrer

Maribel Ferrer is one of the two new Board Members for the Council for Educational Change.  She is the Media Relations and Community Engagement Vice President for JPMorgan Chase, Southeast U.S. and U.S. Hispanic. She manages media relations for JPMorgan Chase in Florida and Georgia and leads Hispanic media relations for the bank. Before joining Chase earlier this year, Ferrer managed Hispanic communications programs and initiatives for Fortune 100 companies as co-lead of Fleishman-Hillard’s FH Hispania.

An award-winning professional, she directed campaigns for State Farm, Allstate, P&G and AT&T that earned industry recognition from AdAge, PRSA and PRWeek. With more than 15 years of experience in communications spanning journalism, advertising and public relations, she is a fully bilingual communications expert.

Ms. Ferrer serves on the board of PRSA Miami as chair of the Hispanic committee. She also is an advisory board member to Hispanicize—the annual Hispanic marketing and public relations conference.
Ms. Ferrer earned a Master’s in Journalism from Boston University, and a Bachelor of Arts from the Universidad de Puerto Rico in comparative literature. Born and raised in Puerto Rico, she now lives in Miami with her family.

PASS© and Executive PASS©

The kick off for the newest PASS grant was held on Dec. 4, at Monroe Middle School in Tampa. The project is designed to find innovative ways to meet the unique educational needs of military families during a time when so much is being asked of military families across the nation. The partnership involves MacDill Air Force Base leadership, Tampa Bay area business leaders, Hillsborough County Public Schools, Monroe Middle School administration, and the Council for Educational Change (CEC) with a focus on increasing student achievement and improving the overall educational experience for children of military families at Monroe Middle School.  Kenneth Hart is the school principal. The PASS team also includes Colonel Tony Buntyn of US Cyber Solutions and Dr. Lynn Wade as Coach.

The Executive PASS program has expanded to Broward County. New partnerships include: Charles R. Drew Elementary – Angeline Flowers, Principal, and Lyons Creek Middle School - Dr. Ted Toomer, Principal. Both schools are partnering with Henry Petithomme, and the Youth Power Movement, Inc. In Miami-Dade, a new partnership was established with Everglades K-8 Center - Principal Dr. Lilia Dobao, and business partner Carlos Temperan, John Hancock Financial Network.

Students from Jose Marti MAST 6-12 Academy were honored at America Te Ve for their EMMY Award nomination. The nomination was for the “Los Reporteritos” segments on the news. Students were interviewed for a special edition of “Los Reporteritos” which aired in December. Students had an opportunity to interview reporters as well as behind the scenes staff. After a full tour of the studio, there was a special reception in honor of the students.

Steve Richards, Executive PASS partner at Earlington Heights Elementary in Miami-Dade, took a group of male students to the History Museum Miami for their monthly activity. The students traveled by Metrorail and Metromover, and even had an opportunity to load an authentic cannon.


  • Adolfo Costa, Principal of Coral Gables Senior High is the Central Region’s nominee for Principal of the Year. Mr. Costa has been so successful with his Executive PASS partnership that it has expanded to a full PASS program.
  • Board Member Karen Fryd, was recognized in the Miami Herald for her philanthropic efforts on behalf of children in Miami-Dade County. Karen has been a partner with a number of schools including the Young Men’s Preparatory Academy and Holmes Elementary.
  • Theron Clark, Principal of Golden Glades Elementary is the Educational Transformation Office’s Region’s nominee for Principal of the Year.  Golden Glades is a PASS school, partnering with CEC Board Member Dr. Paul Zimmerman. The school is also the recipient of a grant from the Leonore Annenberg School Fund for Children.
  • Dawn Baglos, Principal of Dr. Michael M. Krop Senior High School is the North Region nominee for Miami-Dade County Schools Principal of the Year. Krop Senior High is an Executive PASS school partnerned with Raj Thakor of ING Financial Partners.

Commissioner’s Leadership Academy…

The next session of the Commissioner’s Leadership Academy will be held February 4 – 6 at the Hotel Intercontinental in Tampa.  In the meantime, participants are demonstrating why they are considered among the best school leaders in the state:

  • Reva Vangates of Miami-Dade has been promoted to the position of Administrative Director in the South Area.
  • Rob McCue, Principal at South Lake High, was recently honored as the Florida Reading Association’s High School Reading Leader of the Year. The award acknowledges educators for their commitment to literacy among all students, and for the ability to foster excellence in literacy education. McCue was presented the award last month at the Florida Reading Association’s 50th Annual Conference at Rosen Shingle Creek Resort.
  • Shanna Flecha is no longer assigned to a school. She is now the Principal on Assignment for the Teacher Incentive Fund Grant. It is a 45 million dollar grant over five years. Her job is to help develop the career ladder program for her district. A big part of her responsibilities deal with professional development and mentoring. She will continue to work with the new principal assigned to her through this initiative.

A printable version of the Update is available for download below.

Council for Educational Change Board....Florida's Educational Think Tank
Gene E. Marshall, Chair • Dr. Elaine Liftin, President and Executive Director
Founder, Leonard Miller
Andrew L. Ansin* • Philip F. Blumberg • Hugh M. Brown* • Columba Bush* • Charles E. Cobb Jr.* • Irv Cohen • Scott A. Curtis • Dr. Akshay Desai
Edward W. Easton* • T. Willard Fair* • Edward T. Foote, II* • Karen Fryd • Dr. Robert W. Graham, III
Bill Habermeyer* • Steven T. Halverson* • Elsie Sterling Howard • Cyrus M. Jollivette • David S. Kenin Esq* • Jonathan I. Kislak*
Daniel W. Mahurin* • Beth G. Martinez* • Jeffrey Miller • Sue Miller • Robert A. Morris Jr.* • Robert Moss • Beau Parrillo • Fred F. Pezeshkan
Andrew S. Rosen • Peter S. Rummell* • Steven J. Saiontz • Michael Scheck* • Roger Slade • Elliott Stern* • Steven J. Uhlfelder
Keith T. Ward • Steven Wasserman • Lynne Wines • Dr. Paul Zimmerman • Robert A. Zinn     *Life Trustees
3265 Meridian Parkway Suite 130 Weston, FL 33331 phone: 954.727.9909 fax: 954.727.0990 www.changeeeducation.org


JAN 2013 Update.pdf138 KB