Meet the Council

  • Jonathan I. Kislak

    Jonathan Kislak began his career at the Federal Home Loan Bank of Boston as a Regional Representative responsible for processing branch applications for the New England region. From 1991 to 1999, he operated Kislak Capital Corporation, a successful investor in start-up and early stage companies. Jon served as Chairman Emeritus of Kislak National Bank until its sale in January 2005.

  • Michael Kornahrens

    As Co- Founder and President of Advanced Green Technologies, Michael Kornahrens develops and implements strategies, relationships and standards for the organization in the United States and Canada. His experience includes developing solar rooftop and ground mounted designs, coordinating subcontractors, and managing solar system installations.  To date, Michael is responsible for successfully completing more than 250 Megawatts of renewable energy projects in North America and the Caribbean, and is a driving force behind why Solar Builder Magazine has chosen Advanced Green Technologies as a Top Solar Contractor in North America 2012-15.

  • Joseph E. Mahoney, Jr.

    Joseph Mahoney is a seasoned financial professional with nearly 30 years of experience with Bank of America. He has worked in many capacities including Corporate Banking, Commercial Real Estate, Small Business Banking, Wealth Management and Private Banking. He is a Senior Vice President at US Trust where he works with individuals, families, and companies in creating innovative financial solutions for their specific needs.

  • Gene Marshall

    Gene Marshall is a founding board member and initial Chairman of Northstar Bank, a community bank organized in the State of Florida and headquartered in Tampa.

    He is also a consultant with Success Sciences Inc.

    He is a retired Senior Vice President of JPMorgan Chase Bank and former Regional Operations Executive of the Tampa, San Antonio and Vancouver B.C. centers within the retail sector.

  • Jeffrey Miller

    Jeffrey Miller is a South Florida business leader, having had businesses in commercial real estate, banking, utilities and healthcare. Jeffrey has been an active investor in these industries for approximately 30 years. Jeffrey is a graduate from Ransom Everglades and holds a bachelor degree from the University of Miami.

  • Eric Montes de Oca

    Eric Montes de Oca holds the position of Vice President and is also an Equity Partner of Grycon LLC, a leading South Florida General Contractor and Construction Management firm.  He has worked in the construction industry for the past twenty three years, and eighteen of those years have been with the Grycon team. Eric is a graduate of Florida International University where he graduated with a Bachelor’s of Science in Construction Management.  At Grycon, he is responsible for business development, field operations, and also serves as Project Executive on large scale projects. In addition to his roles at Grycon, Eric is President elect of the Latin Builders Association which is the largest Hispanic construction association in the United States.

  • Arthur Noriega, V

    Arthur Noriega is the newest Council Board Member. He is an executive with a strong background in construction, operations, and urban development projects with over 16 years of parking industry experience. Mr. Noriega has headed the Miami Parking Authority since 1999. As Chief Executive Officer, he oversees all of the parking and enforcement operations in a major metropolitan city.

  • Andrew S. Rosen

    Andrew S. Rosen is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Kaplan, Inc.  Rosen joined Kaplan in 1992 and was named Chairman and CEO in November 2008.

  • Peter S. Rummell

    Peter Rummell has been active in the real estate development industry for almost 40 years.

  • Steven J. Saiontz

    Steve is the former Chairman of the Board of Trustees for the Council for Educational Change. Prior to assuming the chairmanship, Steve served as a Council board member and assisted with the transition from the 100 million dollar South Florida Annenberg Challenge to its successor organization, the Council for Educational Change. During the seven year Annenberg Challenge, Steve chaired the Evaluation Committee which monitored and assessed over 100 grants impacting 280,000 students, 15,000 teachers and 378 schools.